We did it!!

Image

 

T.R.I.B.E. Newsletter –
May 1, 2014

TRIBEALIVE.ORG

“If you bring forth what is within you,
what you bring forth will save you.”
-Book of Thomas

To my friends, colleagues supporters,

There is no way I can thank you for coming to be a part of an utterly ambitious evening of T.R.I.B.E., but I shall try.

Thank you 🙂

What a night it was!! Even glaring fluorescent lights, unplugged projectors and missing participants could not dampen the warmth and creativity and community and meaning, and excellence and mastery and magic…and excitement in the room.

I want to thank the silent angels who made the thing really happen at the nuts and bolts level. Jeffrey Lepinske, Caraid O’Brien, Eleni Yalanis, Eduardo Vanzini, Norbert Norman, Barbara Fiscarel,Greg Halpen, Michele Campbell, Karen Osit, Mansoor Sabbagh, Stuart Ross, Debra Barsha, Niki Berg, Graham Haynes, Sally Sockwell, Ada Maris, Jyn Van Putten…and did i mention Jeffrey Lepinske? Thank you , bless you. You made something wonderful happen.

Something about the other night made me think about this story.

I once auditioned for Jimmy Coco and Will Holt for a Broadway musical (Platinum). For a callback, they asked me to learn a song overnight, a pop rock tune…I not only had my own show that night, but my accompanist was busy, so Fyvish Finkel’s son Elliot, a classical pianist, worked with me. It was really crazy for me to even try to learn the piece, but I was up for the challenge.

Needless to say it was sort of a train wreck of an audition…Elliot was playing Rachmaninoff and I was trying to sing a Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis Jr. tune. When the astonishing musical moment ended, there was a stunned silence…and then the darling Jimmy Coco said, “Kid, You have got guts.”

You know what? It takes guts to get our art out there. It takes guts to keep listening to the voice of the creative genius in each of us when we are bombarded by so much pressure to make a living.

TRIBE is about focusing our energies in the direction of opening to that gift, being inspired by each other’s journeys, and making us better able to stand in the power of our gift in the marketplace too!
It is about celebrating each other’s triumphs, and learning from our griefs and disappointments. It is about connecting to the sacred role of the artist, and using that gift, that sacred gift, to transform the world.

The question I asked the other night, I will ask again, is this:

“What is it in you, that YOU are longing to bring forth?”

I trust you felt something of the gift I was endeavoring to deliver Monday evening.
Imagine what it will be like with a Stage Manager and crew!

We are ready for a place to meet ..(.a theatre seems right), for skilled folks to offer their talents to get us rocking and rolling. It is our intention to meet a couple more times over the summer while we build infrastructure and then to real launch right after Labor Day.

I am happy to meet with a group of your friends in your living room to talk about the idea, to spend an inspirational couple of hours, and to hear how you might help.
We need to support the venture financially, and we are open to all of your ideas about how we might do that.

I thank you from the bottom of my heart for being part of this wild adventure.
Stay tuned for the word about our next gathering. Can’t wait to get to know you!!

Bring forth what is within you…It will save you…and that will save the world.

With love,

Jane

 

Image

Leave a Reply

